top of page

Rising Up and Pushing Through the Pain

One College Student's Journey Balancing Classes, Fitness, Work and Family

Meet Fallon Budmayr. A Black Hills State University scholar, this girl is charging full-speed at her bright future. That's not the only thing she does though.

In high school, Fallon was very active in sports. She started in track and field as a freshman and moved into softball, basketball and volleyball. "A time went on, I dropped track and field and focused more heavily on softball," Fallon adds.


As a junior in high school, Fallon injured her knee at the nearby skiing area, Terry Peak. "I had gone 17 years of my life without ever getting [significantly] hurt, so it was a really big awakening when the doctor told me I needed to get surgery on my ACL. I never thought I would hear that statement in my life," Fallon opens up. Devastation consumed her. Recovery was a long road ahead, and Fallon shares that "it literally felt like the world was going to end."


Learning to live with it, and realizing that it wasn't really the end of the world, she even played in their state softball game only approximately three months later. To say that it hasn't changed anything would be a lie, Fallon says it hasn't changed her life a whole lot.


Of course, she can't do everything like she used to. Although occasionally the knee acts up, "I have learned to just give it some love and it will do the same for me," Fallon smiles. "I am very grateful that I am able to do most of what I do normally now but never take for granted anything in life because so quickly it can all change."


Now, Fallon is a double major at Black Hills State University pursuing degrees in elementary and special education with a minor in middle school education. To this day, she still values health and fitness, but balances everything with a multitude of volunteer activities and organizations, family, and multiple jobs.

"Health and fitness are important to me in many ways. Living an active lifestyle is not only important for staying fit, but relieving stress, slowly aging, promoting better sleep and mood enhancing," Fallon advises. Day to day, Fallon focuses on her workout program at least 30 minutes a day. Starting her day with a workout and breakfast, Fallon then goes to Spearfish (she is originally from Belle Fourche) where she continues with work and school periodically throughout the day. Finally, she wraps up most nights with Special Olympics.


On top of daily exercise and school, Fallon participates in:

  • Council for Exceptional Children (CEC)

  • Kappa Delta Phi (KDP)

  • National Education Association (NEA)

  • South Dakota Education Association (SDEA)

  • Spearfish Peaks Steering Committee

  • Special Olympics Committee

  • University Ambassadors

When she isn't volunteering her time or running in between classes, she also works in the athletic department at BHSU, the marketing and communications department as a student technology fellow (STF) and JAM, a middle school program that goes on after school.


"All these activities and jobs I spend my time doing are not only what I want to be doing, but they are also preparing me for my future as an educator," Fallon says. "I enjoy volunteering my time because the first time I walked into a Special Olympic event I knew that's what I wanted to spend most of my time doing the rest of my life."


When asked what her three biggest tips for staying organized between balancing classes, fitness, work, extracurricular commitments , and family she responded with:

  1. My phone. This thing is a life saver. Really, if my head wasn't attached to my body it would have been a goner a while ago. This is just a helpful tool to help me stay on schedule throughout the day. Which also helps me get up and go to bed around the same time every-night. 

  2. Not feeling guilty about taking time for yourself. I take pride in everything I do which is important because what I pick to spend my time doing, I truly love and will give it my all not matter what. Which then it comes down to me also needing some time for myself. Since I truly love everything I do, it can be hard. But it is just so important to remember your wellbeing comes first, no matter what. I love to have some me time, hiking, getting my hair or nails done, coloring, taking a bath, reading a book, and diffusing my essential oils. 

  3. Shared Responsibility. Don't over schedule. Even though I may have a busy schedule it is important to have shared responsibility. With my busy schedule it is important to remember teamwork makes the dream work, and you can’t do it all on your own.

In the end, Fallons' commitment and dedication to serving others and focusing on herself will allow her to reach amazing limits. When she graduates, watch out world! Ms. Budmayr will be one heck of a teacher.

コメント


Sarah-wedding.jpg

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

I have always aspired to be a part of something larger and to share with the world stories.

True, unbiased stories. Stories for the voiceless. 

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
bottom of page